sitem-insel AG

Projects emerge bottom-up, based on the initiative of investigators from private companies, hospitals, basic research institutions, and start-ups. A new building will be available to facilitate the transfer of research results into clinical practice and industrial production in May 2019.

As sitem-insel aims to account for disruptive developments, the infrastructural design guarantees flexibility. To facilitate translational projects with specific novel technologies, several platforms have been designed. These platforms are open for projects from investigators independent of their origin. sitem-insel also welcomes the development of novel platforms in collaboration with innovative private or public investigators. 

Contact

Dr. Simon A. Rothen
+41 31 632 58 41
simon.rothen@sitem-insel.ch

Contact

Dr. Simon A. Rothen
+41 31 632 58 41
simon.rothen@sitem-insel.ch

Platforms


Cardiovascular Test and Innovation Center

flexible state-of-the-art infrastructure to develop and evaluate new cardiovascular products

partner-logo

Clinical cardiovascular medicine at Bern University Hospital enjoys a high reputation worldwide. One of the most important tasks of a university center is not only to provide the most up-to-date standard in the clinical field, but also to further develop the specialist field. The center promotes cooperation with industrial companies and basic research institutions for the purpose of development and application of new cardiovascular products. The strategy focuses on the competitive advantage of bundling expertise from industry and all clinical disciplines in the cardiovascular field. Thanks to the flexible state-of-the-art infrastructure in sitem-insel new cardiovascular products can quickly be developed and evaluated.

CATR Clinical Anatomy Training and Research Unit

Develops innovative diagnostic-therapeutic products with an infrastructure adapted to ethical requirements

The development of innovative diagnostic-therapeutic products as well as their correct handling whilst training on medical cadaveric specimens requires not only an infrastructure adapted to ethical requirements, but also synergies with other units - which exist at the site of sitem-insel. The current structure of the Swissendos Foundation in Fribourg was abolished at the end of 2017 and the course activities were provisionally relocated to the centre of the clinical anatomy department of the University of Berne. However, the existing structure will not suffice to meet the development potential in the medium term. The new CATR (Clinical Anatomy Training and Research Unit) intends to promote product development, services (advanced training courses) and networking with other platforms within the enabling facilities.

Containment Unit (BSL 3)

The containment unit will be a central platfom for cooperation between public and private stakeholders

partner-logo

The development of new diagnostic-therapeutic products for infections, including those caused by emerging pathogens, highly pathogenic organisms and antibiotic-resistant bacteria, is hampered by the lack of laboratories that comply with biosafety regulations and the lack of cooperation between the various partners in this field. Therefore, a containment unit (BSL2 and BSL3 laboratory containig a BSL4 glove box) will be established in the new sitem-insel building as a central platform for cooperation between public and private stakeholders. The premises also allow viral transfections for the development of human gene therapy products and the creation of a bacteriophage centre. The containment will include a dedicated lab to perform risk assessment, packaging and processing of biological samples according to the ordinance on handling organisms in contained systems. The associated biological risk management network will integrate the expert knowledge in the field. The containment unit is under the direction of IFIK (Institut für Infektionskrankheiten) of the University of Bern.

CSL Behring Biologics Research Center

the research and development centre for innovative therapeutic biologics

partner-logo

The biopharmaceutical company CSL Behring AG will establish a research center for innovative therapeutic biologics within sitem-insel’s premises. The proximity to the University Hospital of Bern is a major advantage for the development of novel, patient-oriented products.

Tracing its heritage back to the Behringwerke AG of Nobel Prize laureate Emil von Behring and the ZLB Central Laboratory, a department of the Swiss Red Cross in Berne, CSL Behring has a long tradition of researching and developing life-saving therapies based on human proteins.

More than 1 400 people are employed at the Berne site of CSL Behring. CSL Behring’s line of therapies includes products for primary immune deficiencies, the treatment of bleeding disorders such as hemophilia, and inherited respiratory disease, among others.

Close cooperation between clinicians and industrial research and development is essential for purposefully bringing new biologics to patients. The Swiss Red Cross, the ZLB Central Laboratory, CSL Behring and the University Hospital of Bern have been working together closely since the 1960s. The sitem-insel AG will soon provide an ideal environment for intensifying such collaborations.

Diabetes Center Berne

Simplifying diabetes therapy and improving the quality of life of people with diabetes

partner-logo

The Diabetes Center Berne (DCB) improves the therapy of people with diabetes mellitus by adressing unmet needs. Established in autumn 2017 as a foundation by Dr. h.c. Willy Michel, the DCB moves into sitem-insel’s new building on the Inselspital-campus.

The DCB is one of the first partners from the private sector with a clear focus on translational medicine to commit itself to sitem-insel. The DCB will work closely with the Department for Diabetes, Endocrinology, Clinical Nutrition and Metabolism (UDEM) of the Insel group (University Hospital of Bern).

Initial research fields are continuous and instantaneous monitoring of blood glucose and the automation of therapy using intelligent algorithms for closed-loop systems.

The DCB aims to test research results in clinical studies in a timely manner and to subsequently commercialize successful ideas. Based on applicable investment criteria, projects and initiatives are supported in various phases and subject areas. The overarching purpose of the DCB’s endeavor is to simplify and improve the therapy of diabetes mellitus.

Metabolomics Unit

The partnership between Inselspital and Waters Corporation, the world’s leading specialty measurement company.

partner-logo

The Metabolomics Unit bridges industry and academia by bringing together hardware and software developers, clinicians, engineers and biostatisticians. Building on a sustainable partnership between Inselspital and Waters Corporation, the Metabolomics Unit will be established within sitem-insel’s premises. Waters Corporation is the world’s leading specialty measurement company delivering benefit through innovations and people that enable customer success in the life, materials and food sciences with approximately 7000 employees worldwide.

The field of metabolomics is the most challenging in the ‘omics’-area with the highest potential for clinical application. By determining the complement of metabolites in biological samples, be it a tissue or a fluid, metabolomics experts obtain information reflecting the whole complexity of the interaction between protein expression, enzymatic activity and the environment.

The analysis of metabolomics data depends on the development of innovative hardware and software solutions. Accordingly, the Metabolomics Unit provides a platform to develop and test new instruments and software in the field of biomedical research.

Using Waters’ latest technology, the Metabolomics Unit aims to determine the metabolic effects of new drugs in the human body. For that purpose, the interaction with the Clinical Trials Unit, the Diabetes Center Berne and other platforms in sitem-insel will be of pivotal importance.

Research will focus upon the use of advanced Mass Spectrometry techniques for biomedical research into non-alcoholic steatohepatitis and thyroid cancer. Another promising innovation path involves Ambient Ionization techniques such as Desorption Electrospay Ionization (DESI). This technique allows for the in-situ deep phenotypic molecular characterization for ex-vivo tissues under different disease conditions. This allows to ask mechanistic metabolic questions at the tissue level and complement current imaging technologies present at sitem-insel. The University Hospital of Bern harbors all surgical and pathological research disciplines – a prerequisite for the facilitation of the interactive development of this novel technology.

NeuroTec Center

Novel, flexible and cost-efficient technologies to improve diagnostics, monitoring and therapies of neurologic disorders.

The goal of the NeuroTec Center is to promote novel, flexible and cost- efficient technologies that improve diagnostics, monitoring and therapies of neurologic disorders.

NeuroTec Center constitutes a vibrant environment that catalyzes the efficient interaction between healthcare and technology specialists from academia and industry. A core infrastructure of the center is the Living Suite – a smart apartment to monitor human behavior and how neurological disorders influence daily life. Using state of the art virtual reality technology, computer-generated three-dimensional animations of real world settings will allow patients to engage in everyday activities.

The overall strategy of the NeuroTec Center promises to tackle problems of our aging society, thereby enhancing the cost-efficiency and quality of healthcare in patients with neurologic diseases.

Translational Imaging Center

A cooperation between Siemens Healthineers and the Translational Imaging Center Bern in medical imaging.

partner-logo partner-logo-2

Today, diseases are detected earlier, and therapeutic and preventive treatments are made more effective. The tremendous contribution of medical imaging to this favorable development is appreciated internationally. Therefore, the window of opportunity for the advancement of radiological technologies is wide open and requires the interdisciplinary cooperation between industry and hospitals. The Translational Imaging Center in sitem-insel will enable translational research ranging from the analysis of biochemical samples to investigations of systems and organs by using ultra-high-field magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). In view of the paradigm shift from cohort analyses to personalized medicine, MR-technology marks a cornerstone for diagnostics, therapy-monitoring as well as the identification of new biomarkers.

Increasingly, specialized MR-applications cross-fertilize comprehensive synergetic research areas in biology, human and veterinary medicine, physics, psychology and other fields.

In line with this internationally recognized research strategy, several working groups of the University of Bern and the Inselspital have joined forces within a research consortium to conduct translational research and promote education.

The innovative 7 tesla UHF MRI device MAGNETOM Terra will be the heart of the Translational Imaging Center, which will be installed in combination with the 3 tesla MRI device MAGNETOM Prisma. Both full-body instruments will be delivered by Siemens Healthineers. Placing the Translational Imaging Center in sitem-insel and thus close to the Inselspital is ideal. The Insel Group has performed more than 30 000 clinical MR examinations in 2016 and, together with the University of Bern, possesses outstanding international scientific expertise to take translational innovations to the next level.

The cooperation between Siemens Healthineers and the Translational Imaging Center contributes to shaping the future of imaging and placing Switzerland in a leading research position in Europe.

Translational Musculoskeletal Research Cluster

Development of technologies and implants to improve patient care with diseases of the musculoskeletal system.

partner-logo

The Translational Musculoskeletal Research Cluster allows the development and testing of innovative technologies and implants to improve patient care with diseases of the musculoskeletal system. It forms a central nodal point between Partner organisations of sitem-insel AG, industry partners and other external as well as cooperation partners within the Inselspital.

Within the framework of the sitem-insel School we can offer international courses as well as lectures together with our partners and thus contribute to the strengthening of Berne as a medical location through university education and training.

Start-ups

Benefit from our facilities and network

We welcome early-stage start-ups who look for close collaboration with our specialized scientific platforms or appreciate the proximity to clinicians. Start-ups can benefit from the different supporting facilities that we offer, including our partner network.

The building

sitem-insel will operate from dedicated, purpose-built facilities on the Campus of Bern University Hospital (Inselspital). This location is ideal to facilitate and promote sustainable medical innovation through efficient interaction between patients, competent clinicians, the private sector, regulatory authorities and legal counselors.

The building will be ready in May 2019.

 

atrium

exterior view

first stone laying in 2017

atrium 3rd floor

atrium and entrance hall

laboratory

sitem-insel AG

Auf Initiative von Forschern aus Privatunternehmen, Krankenhäusern, Grundlagenforschungseinrichtungen und Start-ups entwickeln sich  "bottom-up" Projekte. Seit Mai 2019 steht ein eigens erstelltes neues Gebäude zur Verfügung, das als Kompetenzzentrum den Transfer von Forschungsergebnissen in die klinische Praxis und die industrielle Produktion erleichtert. 

sitem-insel will bahnbrechende Entwicklungen berücksichtigen können, das infrastrukturelle Konzept garantiert dazu die nötige Flexibilität. Um Translations-Projekte mit spezifischen neuen Technologien zu erleichtern, wurden mehrere Plattformen geschaffen. Diese Plattformen sind - unabhängig von ihrer Herkunft - offen für Projekte von Forschern. sitem-insel begrüßt auch die Entwicklung neuer Plattformen in Zusammenarbeit mit innovativen privaten oder öffentlichen Forschern.

 

Kontakt

Dr. Christian Rosser
+41 31 664 60 10
christian.rosser@sitem-insel.ch

Kontakt

Dr. Christian Rosser
+41 31 664 60 10
christian.rosser@sitem-insel.ch

Plattformen


ARTORG

Die Brücke zwischen Wissenschaft, Klinik, Medizintechnik und biomedizinischer Industrie.

partner-logo

ARTORG ist das medizintechnische Forschungszentrum der Universität Bern. Ein multidisziplinäres Team von Klinikern, Ingenieuren, Lebenswissenschaftlern, Fachkräften im Gesundheitswesen, Sozial- und Managementwissenschaftlern, Handelspartnern und Patientenvertretern ist vollständig in die medizinische Fakultät und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Inselgruppe eingebunden. Die Translationale Forschung, die sich mit ungedeckten klinischen Bedürfnissen in wichtigen Krankheitsbereichen befasst, wandelt die Ergebnisse der Grundlagenforschung in den Bereichen Mikrofluidik, Strömungsmechanik, Rapid Prototyping, Bildverarbeitung, Robotik und künstliche Intelligenz in klinische Lösungen in der Neurologie, Atemwegs-, HNO-, Augenheilkunde, hepatobiliären, metabolischen, orthopädischen und kardiovaskulären Medizin um. In den letzten zehn Jahren hat eine nachhaltige Übersetzungspipeline bei ARTORG Projekte für erfolgreiche kommerzielle Projekte geliefert, die Investitionen, zugelassene Geräte und Produkte in die klinische Versorgung gebracht haben.

Biosafety Laboratory

Das Biosicherheitslabor ist eine zentrale Plattform für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen öffentlichen und privaten Akteuren. 

partner-logo

Die Entwicklung neuer diagnostisch-therapeutischer Produkte für Infektionen, auch solche, die durch aufkommende Krankheitserreger, hochpathogene Organismen und antibiotikaresistente Bakterien verursacht werden, wird durch den Mangel an Labors, die den Biosicherheitsvorschriften entsprechen, und durch die mangelnde Zusammenarbeit zwischen den verschiedenen Partnern in diesem Bereich behindert. Daher wird im neuen Gebäude der sitem-insel ein Biosicherheitslabor (BSL2- und BSL3-Labor mit einem BSL4-Handschuhbox) als zentrale Plattform für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen öffentlichen und privaten Stakeholdern eingerichtet. Die Räumlichkeiten ermöglichen auch virale Transfektionen für die Entwicklung von humanen Gentherapieprodukten und die Schaffung eines Bakteriophagenzentrums. Das Biosicherheitslabor wird ein eigenes Labor für die Risikobewertung, Verpackung und Verarbeitung biologischer Proben gemäß der Verordnung über den Umgang mit Organismen in geschlossenen Systemen umfassen. Das zugehörige Netzwerk für biologisches Risikomanagement wird das Fachwissen auf diesem Gebiet integrieren. Das Biosicherheitslabor steht unter der Leitung des IFIK (Institut für Infektionskrankheiten) der Universität Bern.

Cardiovascular Test and Innovation Center

flexible, hochmoderne Infrastruktur zur Entwicklung und Beurteilung neuer kardiovaskulärer Produkte

partner-logo

Die klinische kardiovaskuläre Medizin des Universitätsspitals Bern geniesst weltweit einen hohen Ruf. Eine der wichtigsten Aufgaben eines Universitätszentrums ist es, nicht nur den modernsten Standard im klinischen Bereich zu bieten, sondern auch das Fachgebiet weiterzuentwickeln. Das Zentrum fördert die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Industrieunternehmen und Grundlagenforschungseinrichtungen zur Entwicklung und Anwendung neuer kardiovaskulärer Produkte. Die Strategie basiert auf den Wettbewerbsvorteil der Bündelung von Know-how aus der Industrie und allen klinischen Disziplinen im Bereich des kardiovaskulären Bereichs. Dank der flexiblen, hochmodernen Infrastruktur der sitem-insel können neue kardiovaskuläre Produkte schnell entwickelt und ausgewertet werden.

CATR Clinical Anatomy Training and Research Unit

Entwickelt innovative diagnostisch-therapeutische Produkte mit einer an die ethischen Anforderungen angepassten Infrastruktur

Die Entwicklung innovativer diagnostisch-therapeutischer Produkte sowie deren korrekte Handhabung während der Ausbildung an medizinischen Leichenproben erfordert nicht nur eine an ethische Anforderungen angepasste Infrastruktur, sondern auch Synergien mit anderen Einheiten - die am Standort sitem-insel existieren. Die derzeitige Struktur der Swissendos-Stiftung in Freiburg wurde Ende 2017 aufgehoben und die Kurstätigkeiten wurden provisorisch in das Zentrum der klinischen Anatomieabteilung der Universität Bern verlegt. Die bestehende Struktur wird jedoch nicht ausreichen, um das Entwicklungspotenzial mittelfristig zu decken. Die neue CATR (Clinical Anatomy Training and Research Unit) will die Produktentwicklung, Dienstleistungen (Fortbildungskurse) und die Vernetzung mit anderen Plattformen innerhalb der Einrichtungen fördern.

Clinical Trials Unit

Ein Kooperationspartner für klinische Studien in der Anfangsphase

partner-logo partner-logo-2

Die CTU Bern wird eine ambulante und stationäre Forschungseinrichtung für die Durchführung von klinischen Studien in der sitem-insel betreiben. Diese dient sowohl akademischen Forschern als auch privaten Unternehmen als Kooperationspartner für die Durchführung klinischer Studien in jeder Entwicklungsphase, jedoch mit besonderem Fokus auf Frühphasenstudien.

Zusammen mit den anderen Servicebereichen der CTU Bern wird diese Einrichtung schließlich die "Translational and Early Phase Unit" der sitem-insel bilden. Konkret geht es darum, translationale Forschungsprojekte und Kooperationsprojekte zwischen Wissenschaft und Industriepartnern, insbesondere Start-ups und KMUs, zu erleichtern. Die Stärke der Einheit basiert auf der medizinischen Expertise aller Disziplinen des Inselspitals, der individuellen Betreuung, dem umfassenden Leistungsspektrum (Planung, Durchführung, Abschluss) sowie der fundierten Expertise im Bereich Studienmethodik/Design.

CSL Behring Biologics Research Center

das Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum für innovative therapeutische Biologika

partner-logo

Das biopharmazeutische Unternehmen CSL Behring AG wird in den Räumlichkeiten von sitem-insel ein Forschungszentrum für innovative therapeutische Biologika errichten. Die Nähe zum Universitätsspital Bern ist ein grosser Vorteil für die Entwicklung neuartiger, patientenorientierter Produkte.

CSL Behring geht auf die Behringwerke AG des Nobelpreisträgers Emil von Behring und das Zentrallabor ZLB, eine Abteilung des Schweizerischen Roten Kreuzes in Bern, zurück und hat eine lange Tradition in der Erforschung und Entwicklung lebensrettender Therapien auf Basis menschlicher Proteine.

Mehr als 1400 Personen sind am Standort Bern der CSL Behring beschäftigt. Das Therapieangebot von CSL Behring umfasst unter anderem Produkte für primäre Immunschwächen, die Behandlung von Blutungsstörungen wie Hämophilie und erbliche Atemwegserkrankungen.

Eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen Klinikern und industrieller Forschung und Entwicklung ist unerlässlich, um Patienten gezielt mit neuen Biologika zu versorgen. Das Schweizerische Rote Kreuz, das Zentrallabor ZLB, CSL Behring und das Universitätsspital Bern arbeiten seit den 1960er Jahren eng zusammen. Die sitem-insel AG wird in Kürze ein ideales Umfeld für die Intensivierung solcher Kooperationen bieten.

Dental Research Center

Integration von Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten

partner-logo

Die Schule für Zahnmedizin der Universität Bern, mit ihrer erstklassigen Erfahrung in der translationalen Forschung, arbeitet seit Jahrzehnten erfolgreich mit Medtech-Unternehmen wie der Straumann AG zusammen. Die Integration dieser Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten in das Dental Translational Research Center (DTRC) stärkt das Projekt sitem-insel.

Mit dem Einzug in das Gebäude der sitem-insel erhalten die präklinischen Labore Zugang zu einer erstklassigen Forschungsinfrastruktur und profitieren von der vorhandenen Expertise anderer Forschungsgruppen. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Zusammenarbeit mit den Plattformen Translational Imaging Center, BSL 3 Laboratory, CATR und den ARTORG Center Gruppen.

Diabetes Center Berne

Vereinfachung der Diabetestherapie und Verbesserung der Lebensqualität von Menschen mit Diabetes

partner-logo

Das Diabetes Center Bern (DCB) verbessert die Therapie von Menschen mit Diabetes mellitus, indem es unerfüllte Bedürfnisse adressiert. Im Herbst 2017 als Stiftung von Dr. h.c. Willy Michel gegründet, bezieht das DCB das neue Gebäude der sitem-insel auf dem Campus des Inselspitals.

Das DCB ist einer der ersten Partner aus der Privatwirtschaft mit klarem Fokus auf die translationale Medizin, der sich für sitem-insel engagiert. Das DCB wird eng mit der Universitätsklinik für Diabetologie, Endokrinologie, Ernährungsmedizin und Metabolismus
 (UDEM) der Inselgruppe (Universitätsspital Bern) zusammenarbeiten.

Erste Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die kontinuierliche und sofortige Überwachung des Blutzuckers und die Automatisierung der Therapie mit intelligenten Algorithmen für geschlossene Kreisläufe.

Ziel des DCB ist es, Forschungsergebnisse in klinischen Studien zeitnah zu testen und anschließend erfolgreiche Ideen zu kommerzialisieren. Basierend auf anwendbaren Investitionskriterien werden Projekte und Initiativen in verschiedenen Phasen und Themenbereichen unterstützt. Das übergeordnete Ziel der Bestrebungen der DCB ist es, die Therapie des Diabetes mellitus zu vereinfachen und zu verbessern.

Metabolomics Unit

Die Partnerschaft zwischen dem Inselspital und der Waters Corporation, dem weltweit führenden Unternehmen für Spezialmesstechnik

partner-logo

Die Metabolomics Unit verbindet Industrie und Wissenschaft, indem sie Hard- und Softwareentwickler, Kliniker, Ingenieure und Biostatistiker zusammenbringt. Aufbauend auf einer nachhaltigen Partnerschaft zwischen dem Inselspital und der Waters Corporation wird die Metabolomics Unit in den Räumlichkeiten der sitem-insel eingerichtet. Waters Corporation ist das weltweit führende Unternehmen für Spezialmesstechnik, das mit rund 7000 Angestellten weltweit Nutzen aus Innovationen und Mitarbeitenden zieht, die den Kundenerfolg in den Bereichen Life, Materials und Food Sciences ermöglichen.

Der Bereich der Metabolomik ist die größte Herausforderung im Omiks-Bereich mit dem höchsten Potenzial für die klinische Anwendung. Durch die Bestimmung der Komplemente von Metaboliten in biologischen Proben, sei es Gewebe oder Flüssigkeit, erhalten Metabolomik-Experten Informationen, die die gesamte Komplexität der Interaktion zwischen Proteinexpression, enzymatischer Aktivität und der Umwelt widerspiegeln.

Die Analyse von Metabolomikdaten hängt von der Entwicklung innovativer Hard- und Softwarelösungen ab. Dementsprechend bietet die Metabolomics Unit eine Plattform zur Entwicklung und Erprobung neuer Instrumente und Software im Bereich der biomedizinischen Forschung.

Mit der neuesten Technologie von Waters verfolgt die Metabolomics Unit das Ziel, die metabolischen Auswirkungen neuer Medikamente im menschlichen Körper zu bestimmen. Zu diesem Zweck wird die Interaktion mit der Clinical Trials Unit, dem Diabetes Center Berne und anderen Plattformen der sitem-insel von zentraler Bedeutung sein.

Im Mittelpunkt der Forschung wird der Einsatz fortschrittlicher Massenspektrometrietechniken für die biomedizinische Forschung auf dem Gebiet der nicht-alkoholischen Steatohepatitis und des Schilddrüsenkrebses stehen. Ein weiterer vielversprechender Innovationspfad sind Techniken der Umgebungsionisierung wie die Desorption Electrospay Ionization (DESI). Diese Technik ermöglicht die in-situ tiefe phänotypische molekulare Charakterisierung von Ex-vivo-Geweben unter verschiedenen Krankheitsbedingungen. Dies ermöglicht es, mechanistische Stoffwechselfragen auf Gewebeebene zu stellen und ergänzt die aktuellen Bildgebungstechnologien der sitem-insel. Das Universitätsspital Bern beherbergt alle chirurgischen und pathologischen Forschungsdisziplinen - eine Voraussetzung, um die interaktive Entwicklung dieser neuartigen Technologie zu ermöglichen.

NeuroTec

Neue, flexible und kosteneffiziente Technologien zur Verbesserung von Diagnose, Überwachung und Therapie neurologischer Erkrankungen

partner-logo

Ziel des NeuroTec ist es, neuartige, flexible und kosteneffiziente Technologien zur Verbesserung von Diagnose, Überwachung und Therapie neurologischer Erkrankungen zu fördern.

Das NeuroTec bildet ein lebendiges Umfeld, das das effiziente Zusammenspiel zwischen Gesundheits- und Technologiespezialisten aus Wissenschaft und Industrie katalysiert. Eine zentrale Infrastruktur des Zentrums ist die Living Suite - eine intelligente Wohnung zur Überwachung des menschlichen Verhaltens und des Einflusses neurologischer Erkrankungen auf das tägliche Leben. Mit Hilfe modernster Virtual-Reality-Technologie ermöglichen computergenerierte dreidimensionale Animationen von realen Umgebungen den Patienten die Teilnahme an alltäglichen Aktivitäten.

Die Gesamtstrategie des NeuroTec verspricht, die Probleme unserer alternden Gesellschaft anzugehen und damit die Kosteneffizienz und Qualität der Gesundheitsversorgung bei Patienten mit neurologischen Krankheiten zu verbessern.

Besuchen Sie uns unter www.neuro-tec.ch

Translational Imaging Center

Eine Kooperation zwischen Siemens Healthineers und dem Translational Imaging Center Bern im Bereich Diagnostische Bildgebung

partner-logo partner-logo-2

Heute werden Krankheiten früher erkannt und therapeutische und präventive Behandlungen effektiver gestaltet. Der enorme Beitrag der diagnostischen Bildgebung zu dieser positiven Entwicklung wird international gewürdigt. Daher ist das Zeitfenster für die Weiterentwicklung radiologischer Technologien weit offen und erfordert die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zwischen Industrie und Krankenhäusern. Das Translational Imaging Center der sitem-insel ermöglicht translationale Forschung von der Analyse biochemischer Proben bis hin zur Untersuchung von Systemen und Organen unter Verwendung der Ultrahochfeld-Magnetresonanztomographie (MRT). Angesichts des Paradigmenwechsels von der Kohortenanalyse zur personalisierten Medizin ist die MR-Technologie ein Eckpfeiler für Diagnose, Therapie-Monitoring sowie die Identifizierung neuer Biomarker.

Zunehmend nutzen spezialisierte MR-Anwendungen umfangreiche synergetische Forschungsgebiete in der Biologie, Human- und Veterinärmedizin, Physik, Psychologie und anderen Bereichen.

Im Rahmen dieser international anerkannten Forschungsstrategie haben sich mehrere Arbeitsgruppen der Universität Bern und des Inselspitals in einem Forschungskonsortium zusammengeschlossen, um translationale Forschung zu betreiben und die Bildung zu fördern.

Das innovative 7-Tesla UHF-MRT-Gerät MAGNETOM Terra wird das Herzstück des Translational Imaging Centers sein, das in Kombination mit dem 3-Tesla-MRT-Gerät MAGNETOM Prisma installiert wird. Beide Ganzkörperinstrumente werden von Siemens Healthineers geliefert. Die Unterbringung des Translational Imaging Center in der sitem-insel und damit in der Nähe des Inselspitals ist ideal. Die Inselgruppe hat im Jahr 2016 mehr als 30 000 klinische MR-Untersuchungen durchgeführt und verfügt zusammen mit der Universität Bern über eine hervorragende internationale wissenschaftliche Expertise, um translationale Innovationen auf die nächste Stufe zu heben.

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Siemens Healthineers und dem Translational Imaging Center trägt dazu bei, die Zukunft der Bildgebung zu gestalten und die Schweiz an eine führende Forschungsposition in Europa zu bringen.

Translational Musculoskeletal Research Cluster

Entwicklung von Technologien und Implantaten zur Verbesserung der Patientenversorgung bei Erkrankungen des Bewegungsapparates

partner-logo

Der Translational Musculoskeletal Research Cluster ermöglicht die Entwicklung und das Testen innovativer Technologien und Implantate zur Verbesserung der Patientenversorgung bei Erkrankungen des Bewegungsapparates. Sie bildet einen zentralen Knotenpunkt zwischen Partnerorganisationen der sitem-insel AG, Industriepartnern und anderen Externen sowie Kooperationspartnern innerhalb des Inselspitals.

Im Rahmen der sitem-insel School können wir zusammen mit unseren Partnern internationale Kurse sowie Vorträge anbieten und so zur Stärkung des Medizinstandortes Bern durch universitäre Aus- und Weiterbildung beitragen.

Start-ups

Profitieren Sie von unseren Einrichtungen und unserem Netzwerk

Wir begrüßen Start-ups in der Anfangsphase, die eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit unseren spezialisierten wissenschaftlichen Plattformen suchen oder die Nähe zu Klinikern schätzen. Start-ups können von den verschiedenen Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten profitieren, die wir anbieten, darunter auch unser Partnernetzwerk.

Das Gebäude

sitem-insel wird in einem eigens dafür errichteten Gebäude auf dem Campus des Universitätsspitals Bern (Inselspital) betrieben. Dieser Standort ist ideal, um nachhaltige medizinische Innovationen durch effiziente Interaktion zwischen Patienten, kompetenten Klinikern, dem Privatsektor, Aufsichtsbehörden und Rechtsberatern zu ermöglichen und zu fördern.

 

Atrium

Aussenansicht

Grundsteinlegung 2017

Atrium und Eingangshalle

Labor

Treppen